Voluntary Action Shetland   Voluntary Action Shetland
Voluntary Action Shetland

Shetland Youth Volunteering Awards 2018

All photos: Dave Donaldson

SYVA Group photo 2018

The Annual Shetland Youth Volunteer Awards sponsored by Voluntary Action Shetland, The Rotary Club of Shetland and EnQuest Sullom Voe, was held at a Civic Reception in the Lerwick Town Hall hosted by the Shetland Islands Council on Tuesday the 6th November.

Now in its ninth year, the awards recognise the outstanding efforts of young volunteers in Shetland and of the organisations that support them. This year 24 Organisations, teams of volunteers and individual young volunteers were nominated in the three awards and posters on display showcased their volunteering with musical entertainment by the Scalloway Youth Café House Band.

Scalloway Youth Centre House Band

Scalloway Youth Cafe House Band

The event was opened by Voluntary Action Shetland’s Youth Volunteering Development Worker Neil Pearson before event compere Caroline Moyes introduced MSP Tavish Scott who issued certificates to all of the nominees in each of the three categories.

The first award of the evening, the Organisation Award, was presented by Voluntary Action Shetland’s Chairwoman Marilyn Stewart, who spoke of the importance of volunteering in Shetland and the benefits to the community, the individuals who volunteer and to the economy. The organisations nominated were: Filsket Riding Club, Police Scotland Youth Volunteers, Shetland Amateur Competitive Swimming Club, Sandwick Duke of Edinburgh and the Walter and Joan Gray Home. The winner was Filsket Riding Club.  

Garry Hendry of EnQuest Sullom Voe (who replaced BP as operators of the Sullom Voe Oil Terminal) presented certificates to the “One Team” nominees. Shortlisted were: Filsket Riding Club Volunteers, Police Scotland Youth Volunteers, Shetland Young Promoters group and Unst Children’s Disability Club, with Police Scotland Youth Volunteers were the  winner.

The final award of the evening was the Individual Volunteer Award presented by chairperson of the Rotary Club of Shetland, Robbie McGregor. Shortlisted were Rona Brookes, Oriana Grains, Sarah Hazell and Carla Tait. Winner was Rona Brookes, a volunteer with a variety of groups and organisations in Unst including Disability Shetland’s Unst Saturday Club and the Baltasound Junior High School. SIC Chair of the Children and Families Committee George Smith closed the ceremony.

Winners and Sponsors

Winners and Sponsors

For further information, please contact:
Neil.Pearson@shetland.org 01595 743911

Quick Links to photos:

SYVA 2018 Organisation nominees
SYVA 2018 One Team nominees
SYVA 2018 Volunteer nominees


VAS promoters SYVA 2017               Shetland Rotary sponsoring SYVA 2017

| Logo : The Scottish Government | | Logo : Leader Plus | Logo : Project part financed by the european union| Logo : Voluntary Action Shetland| Logo : Shetland Charitable Trust|