Voluntary Action Shetland   Voluntary Action Shetland
Voluntary Action Shetland

Shetland Youth Volunteering Awards 2016

Sponsored by Voluntary Action Shetland SC017286, The Rotary Club of Shetland and BP Sullom Voe

SYVA group photo

Participants at the SYVA 2016 Awards event     All Photos: Dave Donaldson

On Tuesday the 15th November the 7th annual Shetland Youth Volunteering Awards took place at a civic reception hosted by the Vice Convenor of Shetland Islands Council, Cecil Smith, at Mareel. The event was attended by over 100 nominees, nominators and guests.

There were 31 nominations from across Shetland in the three awards categories: 7 Organisations, 10 One Team (groups of volunteers) and 14 Individual volunteers. Posters showcased the nominees’ volunteering achievements and music was provided by young traditional music group Fjanna (pictured below).


Voluntary Action Shetland (VAS) Youth Development Worker Neil Pearson introduced the event, Caroline Moyes was compère for the night and introduced Shetland MSP Tavish Scott who issued certificates to all the nominees.

Alec Miller, VAS Chair presented the winner’s trophy in the Organisations category. The shortlisted organisations were: The Bridges Project, the Scalloway Youth Cafe and Police Scotland, Young Scot and Youth Link Scotland and winners the Shetland Junior Netball Development Group.

Roger Moore, Operations Site Manager of awards partners BP Sullom Voe, presented awards to the “One Team” group of volunteers category. Shortlisted were: Weisdale Enterprise Shed Group, Virtually Safe Virtually Sound, Shetland Befriending Scheme Befrienders and winners RSPB Young Volunteers.

Dennis Leask, president of the Rotary Club of Shetland presented awards in the individual volunteers category. Shortlisted were: Catherine Johnson, Nethan Watson, Bronwyn Mathieson and Thomas Hawick (a volunteer with Disability Shetland and 4 time SYVA shortlisted Nominee) the winner of the Individual category.

SYVA Winners

Award Recipients

This year the event was also streamed live on 60 North TV.

For further information, please contact:

Neil Pearson Neil.Pearson@shetland.org 01595 743911

Quick Page Links:
Organisation nominees
One Team nominees
Volunteer nominees


| Logo : The Scottish Government | | Logo : Leader Plus | Logo : Project part financed by the european union| Logo : Voluntary Action Shetland| Logo : Shetland Charitable Trust|