Voluntary Action Shetland   Voluntary Action Shetland
Voluntary Action Shetland

Shetland Saltire Awards Ceremony 2015

Photos: Dave Donaldson

The Voluntary Action Shetland 3rd Annual Saltire Award was held on 23rd March at Mareel in Lerwick before 200 invited guests. 94 Volunteers attended to collect their awards from a record breaking 163 young volunteers this year, who were awarded a total of 435 certificates ranging from 10 hours to 500 hours for the volunteering they had collectively carried out with 64 different local groups, voluntary organisations and schools.

Photos: 10, 25 hours; 50 hours; 100 hours; 200 hours500 hours and Summit awards

The Saltire Awards are sponsored by the Scottish Government and locally administered by Voluntary Action Shetland (VAS). The Saltire Awards are recognised nationally by colleges, universities and employers and are a valuable addition to any CV. The awards are available for 12 to 25-year-olds who volunteer and awards are achieved after 10, 25, 50, 100, 200 and 500 hours of volunteering activity undertaken by the individual volunteer.

Following a light buffet and musical entertainment provided by “Misbehavin”, the awards were officially opened by VAS Chairman Mr Alec Miller who said that volunteers receiving Saltire Awards this year have completed over 16,400 hours of volunteering in Shetland, an increase of 5,030 hours over 2013; over 25% of the current high school role in Shetland were now signed up for Saltire Awards. Certificates were presented by Shetland MSP Tavish Scott and Shetland Islands Council Convenor Malcolm Bell.

17 young volunteers also received the high accolade of Saltire Summit Awards. The pinnacle of the Saltire Awards, Summit Awards can only be achieved by those volunteers who have been nominated by their supervisor for making an outstanding contribution to volunteering in addition to achieving their 200 or 500 hour award; its purpose is to recognise those who have performed exceptionally in their volunteering role.

Volunteers or organisations who would like to find out more about Saltire Awards can contact VAS Youth Volunteering Development Worker Neil Pearson by phone on 01595 743911 or by email at: Neil.Pearson@shetland.org


Musical entertainment was provided by
Shetland young musicians "Misbehavin'"


Recipients of the Summit awards,
with Malcolm Bell,Neil Pearson, Alec Miller,
Catherine Hughson and Tavish Scott, MSP

Alec Miller
VAS Chair


| Logo : The Scottish Government | | Logo : Leader Plus | Logo : Project part financed by the european union| Logo : Voluntary Action Shetland| Logo : Shetland Charitable Trust|