Voluntary Action Shetland   Voluntary Action Shetland
Voluntary Action Shetland

Shetland Youth Volunteering Awards 2012 

The 2012 Shetland Youth Volunteering Awards (SYVA) presentation event was held at the Lerwick Town Hall on 6th November.  Christopher Wright won the individual award and Shetland Youth Information Service Peer Education project took the honours in the organisations' class.
 SYVA 2012 winners with Tavish Scott, Gussie Angus and Tom MacIntyre

Pictured above are:
Tavish Scott, MSP; Christopher Wright (individual winner); Gussie Angus (VAS Chair);
Becky Robertson (SYIS); and Tom MacIntyre (Rotary Club of Shetland).
All photos: Dave Donaldson

The event was timed to coincide with Make a Difference Day, the UK’s biggest day of volunteering, and aims to highlight the valuable and diverse work being done across Shetland by young volunteers. The SYVA are organised and supported by Voluntary Action Shetland and The Rotary Club of Shetland. Music was provided by Lisa, Natalie and Martin; Rotary Club member Tom Macintyre opened the ceremony and prizes were presented by last year's individual winner, Claire Antonio, and by Tavish Scott, MSP.

Natalie, Lisa and Friends

Musical entertainment was provided by Natalie, Lisa and Friends.

The four shortlisted organisations were: Mind Your Head, nominated for touring secondary schools and partnering up with young clubs to deliver their roadshow, designed to raise awareness and promote discussions around mental health; Sandwick Junior High School – which is the first school to be nominated – for their third and fourth year pupils who have been supporting WRVS in providing a lunchtime club for the elderly at Sandwick Social Club; Shetland Youth Information Service Peer Education Project, which trains young volunteers to become successful and confident peer educators on issues such as alcohol, drugs and sex education; and Poverty is Bad Let’s Fix It, a group of 12 young volunteers who researched issues of poverty and inequality faced by young people, and presented their findings to a wide variety of groups and organisations in Shetland.

The three shortlisted volunteers for the Individual Award were: Thomas Hawick who had been volunteering with the Moving On Employment project, COPE Scrapstore and the Peerie Youth Club; Christopher Wright, who volunteers as chairperson of the Northern Focus Parkour Group; and Megan Keppie who has been volunteering with Lerwick Junior Netball Club for over two years.

Please click the links for the photos of the individual volunteers and groups.


 Congratulations to all the volunteers and organisations taking part in the Shetland Youth Volunteering Awards!

| Logo : The Scottish Government | | Logo : Leader Plus | Logo : Project part financed by the european union| Logo : Voluntary Action Shetland| Logo : Shetland Charitable Trust|